Fecal Incontinence | Bowel Control | How does the bowel work?

Our Champion, Derick Fage

I was born with an imperforate anus. There are different types of the condition. My situation was that I was born without the opening (which was corrected through surgery at birth) and without a sphincter muscle. Other complications have surfaced over the years but I've been lucky that none of them have been serious. All that to say, I suffer from fecal incontinence. I've had it since birth so it's been my reality all along. I've been hesitant to share because it's been a source of anxiety over the years and certainly a source of embarrassment. I wear protection to this day and still have those incredibly embarrassing situations that arise when you suffer from fecal incontinence. It's never something that's obvious until it becomes really obvious to those around you.

I was extremely fortunate to have wonderful friends and family, but like anything that causes you anxiety and embarrassment, I always chose not to discuss it. I still have my share of embarrassing moments but I don't want that to stop me from doing the things I enjoy, especially being out in the community and working with local organizations. Hosting a live television for 11 years has been challenging for me on many occasions as well. After meeting so many people over the last few years suffering from different forms of incontinence, I figured it was time to stand up and share my story. It wouldn't change a thing about my life. My personality has been greatly shaped by my medical circumstances and that's played a key role in who I've become. Incontinence isn't about being old, it happens for a variety of reasons and it can isolate people. If you have a story I encourage you to share it. I'm sorry I haven't shared my story sooner.

Bio

Ottawa boy Derick Fage is both the host and producer of daytime Ottawa on Rogers TV. Daytime Ottawa is a live television show and is your window on Ottawa! People tune into daytime to find out what's going on in their city: community events, entertainment, colourful personalities - even cooking tips from top area chefs! Derick has always had a passion for acting and entertaining others. Over the past 25 years he has focused on his passion of entertaining, starring in a number of independent films. He’s also a veteran of live theatre, where he has portrayed over a dozen characters. Derick has been the host of daytime Ottawa since 2004 and took on the added role of producer in January of 2014.

Derick enjoys hosting and producing daytime Ottawa for a number of reasons; the wonderful volunteers working behind the scenes, the friendships he’s made over the years, and meeting the people of Ottawa that make this city a great place to live, work and play.

A self-proclaimed child at heart, Derick is curious about everyone and everything, and it’s this very quality that engages viewers daily on daytime. Derick thrives on conveying what’s happening in Ottawa to viewers in a fun and informative manner. He considers his job at Rogers TV, his dream job, and feels extremely fortunate to have his dream job in the city he has always called home.

Derick has been featured in a number of magazines including FACES Magazine, Ottawa at Home, Press the Fashion and Pounou.

In 2012, Derick was awarded with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for his continuing work in the community and his contributions to a number of charitable organizations. Yvonne Harvey, founder of Canadian Parents of Murdered Children presented the medal to Derick live, on the air. It was completely unexpected and an incredibly humbling experience.

Derick is proud of his work in the Ottawa Community. He has volunteered countless hours for organizations and causes such as, Canadian Parents of Murdered Children, Victims of Violence, LiveWorkPlay, Quickstart – Early Intervention for Autism, Dreams Take Flight, The Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre, Tim Horton's Camp Day, The Chrissy Predham Memorial Golf Tournament, The CHEO Teddy Bear Picnic, BARK Ottawa, Easter Seals, Habitat for Humanity, Harmony House, Carefor, The MS Society of Ottawa, IODE Walter Baker Chapter, The Children’s Wish Foundation, Brain Injury Association of the Ottawa Valley and VOICES Found, to name a few.

Out of the spotlight, Derick enjoys following a variety of sports, reading, acting, music, attending local events and spending time with his wife Monika, her son Max and his daughter, Chloe.

Click here to read more inspiring stories like Derick's.
Contact Us
PO Box 417
Peterborough ON K9J 6Z3
Phone: (705) 750-4600
Email: help at canadiancontinence dot ca
Sign up for our
E-News Bulletins

L’incontinence fécale | Comment les intestins fonctionnent-ils?

Notre champion: Derick Fage

derick fage

Je suis né avec une imperforation anale. Il existe différents types de cette maladie. Pour ma part, je suis né sans orifice (ce qui fût corrigé par chirurgie à la naissance) et sans sphincter. Au fil des ans, d’autres complications sont apparues mais par chance, aucune d’entre elles n’était sérieuse. Tout cela pour dire que je souffre d’incontinence anale. J’en souffre depuis ma naissance alors c’est ma réalité depuis toujours. J’étais réticent à parler de ma condition parce que cela a été une source d’angoisse au cours des années, et certainement une source d’embarras. Je porte une protection en continu, et je me retrouve encore dans des situations terriblement embarrassantes qui surviennent lorsqu’on souffre d’incontinence fécale. La maladie n’est jamais quelque chose d’évident jusqu’à ce qu’elle ne devienne vraiment évidente pour les gens de son entourage.

Je suis extrêmement chanceux d’avoir de merveilleux amis et parents, mais comme pour toute chose qui est source d’angoisse et d’embarras, j’ai toujours choisi de ne pas en parler. Je me trouve encore dans des situations embarrassantes, mais je ne laisse pas cela m’empêcher de faire les choses que j’aime, en particulier être actif dans la communauté et m’impliquer au sein des organismes locaux. En tant qu’animateur de télévision en direct depuis 11 ans, il y avait des moments difficiles. Après avoir rencontré plusieurs personnes au cours des dernières années souffrant de différents types d’incontinence, j’ai pensé qu’il était temps de prendre la parole et de partager mon histoire. Je ne changerais rien à propos de ma vie. Mes circonstances médicales ont contribué à façonner ma personnalité et ont joué un rôle important dans la personne que je suis aujourd’hui. L’incontinence n’est pas due au vieillissement, il y a plusieurs causes. Les personnes atteintes d’incontinence peuvent se sentir isolées. Si vous avez une histoire à propos de l’incontinence, je vous encourage à la partager. Je regrette de ne pas avoir partagé mon histoire plus tôt.

Biographie

Natif d’Ottawa, Derick Fage est à la fois animateur et producteur de l’émission Daytime Ottawa sur Rogers TV. Daytime Ottawa est une émission de télévision en direct et votre fenêtre sur Ottawa! Les gens regardent Daytime Ottawa pour être au courant de ce qui se passe dans leur ville : événements communautaires, divertissements, personnalités intéressantes - même des astuces culinaires, partagées par des grands chefs de la région. Derick a toujours été passionné par la comédie et le divertissement des gens. Au cours des 25 dernières années, il s’est concentré sur sa passion de divertir, en prenant la vedette dans de nombreux films indépendants. Il possède une longue expérience en théâtre, où il a joué plus d’un douzaine de personnages. Derick est l’animateur de Daytime Ottawa depuis 2004 et a aussi pris le rôle de producteur en janvier 2014.

Derick aime animer et produire l’émission Daytime Ottawa pour plusieurs raisons: les merveilleux bénévoles qui travaillent dans les coulisses, les amitiés s’étant nouées au fil des ans, et les rencontres avec les gens d’Ottawa qui font de cette ville un endroit idéal pour vivre, travailler et jouer.

Se proclamant jeune de cœur, Derick est curieux de tout et de tous, c’est d’ailleurs ce trait qui garde les téléspectateurs captivés, jour après jour, par son émission Daytime. Derick prend plaisir à faire part de ce qui se passe à Ottawa aux téléspectateurs, de façon amusante et informative. Pour Derick, son travail à Rogers TV est l’emploi de rêve. Il se sent extrêmement privilégié d’avoir un emploi de rêve dans sa ville natale.

De nombreux magazines, y compris FACES Magazine, Ottawa at Home, Press the Fashion Magazine et Pounou ont présentés des articles sur Derick.

En 2012, Derick a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine Elizabeth II pour son service communautaire et sa contribution à plusieurs organismes de bienfaisance. Yvonne Harvey, fondatrice de Canadian Parents of Murdered Children, a remis la médaille à Derick en direct. C’était complètement inattendu et une expérience incroyablement empreinte d’humilité.

Derick est fier de sa contribution à la communauté d’Ottawa. Il a fait d’innombrables heures de bénévolat auprès d’organismes et causes, tels que, Canadian Parents of Murdered Children, Victims of Violence, LiveWorkPlay, Quickstart – Early Intervention for Autism, Voyage de rêve, Le Royal Mental Health Centre d’Ottawa, Tim Horton’s Camp Day, Le Chrissy Predham Memorial Golf Tournament, Le Pique-nique des oursons de la Fondation du centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario, BARK Ottawa, Timbres de Pâques, Habitat pour l’humanité, Harmony House, Carefor, La Société de la sclérose en plaques d’Ottawa, IODE Walter Baker Chapter, La Fondation Rêves d’enfants, Brain Injury Association of the Ottawa Valley et Voice Found, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

Loin des projecteurs, Derick aime une multitude de sports, la lecture, la comédie, la musique, assister à des événements locaux et passer du temps avec sa femme Monika, son fils Max et sa fille Chloé.

Cliquez ici pour lire plus d'histoires inspirantes comme ceux par Derick.
Contactez-nous
PO Box 417
Peterborough ON K9J 6Z3
Phone: (705) 750-4600
Email: help at canadiancontinence dot ca
Inscrivez-vous pour notre
E-Nouvelles Bulletins


Website design and development by Emmatt Digital Solutions Inc.